Alexander Rossi tops the field on the first runs at qualifying for the Indy 500

Spread the love

Arrow McLaren was the most impressive team so far, with its four drivers currently in the Fast 12. Also, Chip Ganassi Racing and AJ Foyt showed impressive pace. Rahal confirms their bad form.

Photo credit: Penske Entertainment | Joe Skibinski

Ryan Hunter-Reay was the first to attempt to qualify and was able to set a banker lap of 231.613 mph.It was immediately topped by Colton Herta, the Californian was able to carry a 231.951 mph average through the four laps.The next attempt was Team Penske’s Will Power. Penske showed speed through Fast Friday and the Australian was able to go to the top, with a 232.330 mph.4-time Indy 500 champion Helio Castroneves had a wild ride. He was suffering from understeer and even touched the wall on the exit of turn 2. He could only set an average of 230.410 mph.

Chip Ganassi Racing confirmed their favorites tag already on the first run, with defending champion Marcus Ericsson going to the top with an average of 232.765 mph, being the first one, up to that moment of the session, able to do a lap above the 233 mph mark.But, immediately, Arrow McLaren showed surprising speed, with Alexander Rossi going to the top, achieving a stunning 4-lap average of 233.528 mph. He was the first one to go above 234 mph in one lap.Five-time Indy 500 pole sitter, Scott Dixon, was not able to go ahead of Rossi’s attempt. He could slot into second place with a 232.914 mph.An impressive Benjamin Pedersen, on his maiden attempt at qualifying at the Indy 500, was able to split the Ganassis on a 232.739 mph. The AJ Foyts are showing promising signs at the speedway.Following, the second rookie to attempt was Sting Ray Robb, but his run was the complete opposite. He was the first driver not to get to the 230 mph 4-lap average mark. His attempt was only a 229.955.Felix Rosenqvist was the second Arrow McLaren to go to the track, and he was also quick. He went up to second place, with 233.099 mph.Abel Motorsports’ RC Enerson had an impressive run. He confirmed his participation at the 500 only after April’s Open Test but could go up to 13th place at the time, with a 231.129 mph average. He could be out of the Bump Qualifying on Sunday.Rahal, during the week, showed to be one of the weakest teams. Jack Harvey confirmed it on his first attempt, only able to top Sting Ray Robb, with a 230.098 mph.Then, Graham Rahal, Bobby Rahal’s son, went slowest overall. Driving a very loose car, he could only achieve a 228.526 mph average.The third Ed Carpenter Racing to attempt a qualifying run was Rinus VeeKay, and he was the most impressive. He was able to split the Arrow McLarens, with a 233.395 4-lap average.He was followed by another fast charger: Pato O’Ward. The Mexican was able to put his Arrow McLaren in third, with a 233.252 average. The McLarens were 1-2-4 at the moment.Juncos Hollinger Racing lacked management with the No. 77 of Callum Ilott. On Fast Friday, they decided to change Ilott’s chassis to the reserve Canapino chassis, and the Brit had no time to practice with the new one. He finished last, with a 227.720 mph average and struggled hugely with his machinery.AJ Foyt showed even more speed with Santino Ferrucci. The classic No. 14 car could split the Arrow McLarens, with a 223.147 mph average.Ganassi strikes back with Alex Palou. The Spaniard had a lap good enough for second place. 233.398 mph average. Seems to be like the fight for the race win will be between Ganassi and Arrow McLaren just like last season.The only woman in the field, Katherine Legge, was the fastest Rahal so far. She managed an average of 231.070 mph.Team Penske withdraws Scott McLaughlin and Josef Newgarden from the first runs. Both crews are waiting for better conditions at the Speedway.Currently, after the first runs, this is the order:Fast 121) Rossi – 233.528 mph2) Palou – 233.398 mph3) VeeKay – 233.395 mph4) O’Ward – 233.252 mph5) Ferrucci – 233.147 mph6) Rosenqvist – 233.099 mph7) Dixon – 232.914 mph8) Sato – 232.857 mph9) Pedersen (R) – 232.739 mph10) Ericsson – 232.735 mph11) Carpenter – 232.620 mph12) Kanaan – 232.446 mph

13th to 30th13) Daly – 232.433 mph14) Kirkwood – 232.390 mph15) Power – 232.330 mph16) Grosjean – 231.997 mph17) Herta – 231.951 mph18) Pagenaud – 231.687 mph19) Andretti – 231.682 mph20) Hunter-Reay – 231.613 mph21) Wilson – 231.356 mph22) Canapino (R) – 231.320 mph23) DeFrancesco – 231.273 mph24) Enerson (R) – 231.129 mph25) Legge – 231.070 mph26) Malukas – 230.779 mph27) Lundgaard – 230.522 mph28) Castroneves – 230.410 mph29) Harvey – 230.098 mph30) Robb (R) – 229.955 mphLast Chance Qualifying31) Rahal – 228.526 mph32) Ilott – 227.720 mph33) McLaughlin – No time set34) Newgarden – No time set