F2 | Imola GP | Qualifying | Bortoleto takes pole as lap time deletions dominante

Photo Credit: Invicta Racing
Spread the love

Championship leader Zane Maloney posted the first big time of the session with a 1:28.496. Bearman bested that initially, before Durksen and then Bortoleto went top of the charts with a 1:28.044. The Brazilian led Hadjar, Durksen, Aron and Bearman after the opening attempts.

Marti had a massive snap in turn 3 as he ended up spinning in the gravel. Luckily for the Spaniard, he managed to avoid getting stuck in the gravel or stalling.

A 1:28.010 from Zane Maloney put him back to the top of the charts, but Bortoleto responded again as a 1:27.739 put him 0.271s clear.

Hadjar had to abandon his lap as Colapinto had a huge moment in turns 11 and 12, losing the rear and ending up in the gravel. The Argentinian driver just about managed to avoid the wall and managed to get out of the gravel.

Bortoleto led Maloney, Hadjar, Durksen, Barnard, Aron, Bearman, Verschoor, Maini and Cordeel after the first runs.

Andrea Kimi Antonelli was in the top 10 but had a time deleted when he was in P8. The Italian dropped to 13th.

Victor Martins had to take to the grass in the turn 14 and 15 chicane as he hit the kerb wrong in the first part of it. The French driver was down in P14.

The times tumbled as the second runs kicked off. Stanek went P1, before Antonelli and then Bearman took it. A 1:27.111 from Bearman put him 0.161s clear of Hadjar. Antonelli, Bortoleto, Durksen, Stanek, Cordeel, Marti, Verschoor and Colapinto completed the top 10.

Championship leader Maloney was down in 11th.

It was glory for Bortoleto at the end as a 1:27.056 saw the Brazilian take pole position from Berman by 0.056s. Hadjar, Antonelli, Durksen, Maloney, Stanek, Aron, Colapinto and Fittipaldi looked to have rounded out the top 10.

It was a shocking Friday for Victor Martins as he was 22nd and last in the ART — that was until times got removed.

Things changed just after qualifying. Bearman and Antonelli dropped to P19 and P21 as their times got deleted. Maini, Cordeel, Aron, Colapinto, Barnard, Villagomez, Crawford and Correa also had times removed.

The final top 10 was Bortoleto, Hadjar, Durksen, Maloney, Stanek, Fittipaldi, Hauger, Marti, Verschoor and Colapinto.