Felix Rosenqvist secures second straight pole at Texas

Spread the love

It’s been a fantastic qualifying session in Texas for Arrow McLaren as their three drivers finished 1st, 3rd and 5th, with Felix Rosenqvist on pole for the fourth time in his IndyCar career.

As part of his oval programme in 2023, team boss of Ed Carpenter Racing, Ed Carpenter, kicked things off in qualifying. The two lap average from the American was a 218.375.

Rookie Benjamin Pedersen was the next runner and immediately beat that as he was the first driver to do an average of over 219 miles per hour on a 219.100. That would be narrowly beaten by DeFrancesco as he logged a 219.146 over his two laps.

DeFrancesco, Pedersen, Ferrucci, Carpenter, Castroneves, Pagenaud and Harvey was the order after a quarter of the field had run.

DeFrancesco’s Andretti Autosport teammate Colton Herta pipped the Canadian as he posted an average of 219.184 to go top.

Next up was Felix Rosenqvist and the defending pole winner easily went quickest on a 220.264. Newgarden slotted into P2 as the two-time winner at Texas did a 219.801.

Halfway through qualifying, the top 10 was Rosenqvist, Newgarden, Herta, Grosjean, DeFrancesco, Pedersen, Ferrucci, Carpenter, Kirkwood and Castroneves.

Agustin Canapino impressed in his first oval qualifying as he did an average of 218.367 to go 9th, two places ahead of four-time Indy 500 winner Helio Castroneves.

On his first appearance of 2023 in place of Marcus Armstrong, Takuma Sato in the Chip Ganassi jumped into 3rd behind Rosenqvist and Newgarden, with a 219.508.

In spite of topping practice, Scott McLaughlin had a disappointing run in qualifying and could only go P9 at the time of his attempt.

With nine drivers to go, Rosenqvist continued to lead. Newgarden, Sato, Malukas, Herta, Grosjean, DeFrancesco, Pedersen, Ferrucci and McLaughlin rounded out the top 10.

2021 championship winner Alex Palou did a 219.480 to slot into P4, just behind teammate Takuma Sato.

Defending champion Will Power did a very quick opening lap – it was on the pace of Felix Rosenqvist – but the Australian would be hampered as his car hit the limiter twice on his second tour and went only P5.

Arrow McLaren would be 1-2 with three cars remaining as a 219.960 from Alexander Rossi moved him into P2. Scott Dixon beat that instantly as the next runner with a 219.972.

The last time driver to go out was Marcus Ericsson but the championship leader could only go 16th.

So for the second consecutive season, Felix Rosenqvist claimed pole at Texas. Dixon, Rossi, Newgarden, O’Ward, Sato, Palou, Power, Malukas and Herta completed the top 10.

Scott McLaughlin and Marcus Ericsson will share row eight and face a big climb to score big points tomorrow.

Photo: Penske Entertainment | Chris Owens