Power storms to double pole position at Iowa in a Team Penske 1-2-3 for race 1

Spread the love

Will Power dominated qualifying at Iowa, taking his second consecutive double position on the short oval.

The Australian bested his two Team Penske team mate Scott McLaughlin and Josef Newgarden in a 1-2-3 finish for the team.

A nine-position starting grid penalty will be awarded to Rahal Letterman Lanigan’s Jack Harvey for causing avoidable contact last time out in Toronto for Saturday’s race. The British driver will start in P26.

Benjamin Pederson will start P28 and last for both races after failing its run-thru of tech on Saturday morning.

Each driver set two consecutive lap times, with Lap 1 setting the grid for Race 1 and the second lap setting the order for Race 2 at Iowa.

Ed Carpenter, who solely participates in the oval events, kicked off qualifying after a lengthy rain delay for Ed Carpenter Racing.

The American set a 176.605mph on Lap 1 before improving to 1782.211mph on his second lap.

Dale Coyne Racing’s Sting Ray Robb was next to set his qualifying times, he produced a lacklustre 171.442mph on his first lap. He drove to 174.554mph, a considerable margin slower than Carpenter.

Harvey went quickest with 176.743mph but faded on Lap 2 with 175.837mph, critically slower than Carpenter. The number 30 car will take a nine-place grid drop for Race 1, after an incident at Toronto.

Conor Daly, stepping in for the injured Simon Pagenaud, went third quickest with 175.630mph before being usurped by Devin DeFrancesco. The Canadian drove to 177.530mph to go quickest out of the first five cars.

Argentinian Augustin Canapino performed well on his run, besting Robb and producing a 175.044. The Juncos Hollinger Racing driver set a 175.563mph on Lap 2.

Helio Castroneves struggled with understeer on his first lap but managed to achieve 177.155mph before improving to 177.720mph to slot into second place.

Ed Carpenter Racing returned to the track with Ryan Hunter-Reay, he set an impressive first lap with 176.775mph. Hunter-Reay struggled on the second lap, his 174.888mph only good enough for P8 in Race 2.

David Malukas suffered a big slide early in his run but stormed to the top of the timesheets for Race 1 and the second race driving to 178.610mph in a highly impressive outing.

The short oval proved to cause more problems, as Santino Ferrucci struggled for grip on Lap 1, and his time was good enough for P9 in Race 1 and 10th in Race 2.

After the first 10 cars, Malukas held the quickest time ahead of DeFrancesco and Castroneves.

Juncos driver Callum Ilott fell just shy of his team mate Canapino for both races, setting the eighth-best time.

Dutchman Rinus VeeKay, the third and final Ed Carpenter driver, scored the fourth-best speed for both races, showing his magnificent skills on ovals.

Graham Rahal performed admirably on his run for Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing, setting the third-quickest speed for both races.

Former Formula 1 driver Romain Grosjean was next as qualifying hit the halfway mark.

The Andretti driver was blisteringly quick on Lap 1, his 178.023 enough to go quickest, but faded on Lap 2, ending up P8.

Arrow McLaren SP made their debut in the session with Felix Rosenqvist, the Swede languished down in P8 for Race 1 and just seventh position for Sunday’s Race in a mediocre run.

Kyle Kirkwood wrestled his Andretti to go P9 and eighth place as the track temperature continued to increase, reaching 100°F.

Two-time Indy 500 winner Takuma Sato, exclusively driving at the ovals this year, stormed to third and fifth place but complained of understeer after his effort.

McLaren’s Alex Rossi looking to bounce back after failing to score a top 10 finish at Toronto, could only manage P12 on Lap 1. Before breaking into the top 10 for Sunday’s Race with a 176.664mph.

The times continued to tumble as Colton Herta improved to the top for Race 1 but fell to P3 for the second race after his 178.026mph on Lap 2.

Team Penske’s Power showed incredible raw speed, roaring to 181mph speed to comfortably take a double position.

Christian Lundgaard, fresh from his first IndyCar win at Toronto, languished outside the top 10 on both laps, finding himself in P14 and P15.

As qualifying drew to a close, Power led the field ahead of the Andretti duo of Herta and Grosjean.

New Zealander McLaughlin drive to second position for both races, becoming his team mate’s nearest challenger.

Pato O’Ward achieved third place for Saturday’s 250-lap Race 1, creating a Chevrolet powered 1-2-3, although the Mexican dropped to P8 for Race 2.

The 2022 Indy 500 winner, Marcus Ericsson, couldn’t challenge Team Penske and drove to P7 for Race 1 and P8 for the weekend’s second race.

Four-time winner at Iowa, Newgarden could only manage third place on his first effort after suffering bottoming out at Turn 1 before driving to P7 ahead of Race 2.

Two Chip Ganassi cars were left to run, Scott Dixon took to the track but could only score a fourth and ninth-place starting position for both races.

Qualifying was rounded off by the championship leader Alex Palou but could only drive to seventh place for Race 1 and P12 for the second race at Iowa.