Spanish GP | F3 | Sprint Race | Mari Boya wins on home soil, with Alex Dunne following closely in second

Photo Credit: Formula 3 | X
Spread the love

It was just moments away from the start of the FIA Formula 3 Sprint Race at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya. This was also the 99th race in the Championship’s history.

Yesterday, Christian Mansell of ART Grand Prix made his mark by securing his first F3 pole position.

Today, Santiago Ramos led the pack from reverse grid pole, with his Trident teammate Sami Meguetounif alongside him.

Home favourite Mari Boya started third in the Campos Racing car, with MP Motorsport’s Alex Dunne in P4.

ART’s Laurens van Hoepen was fifth, followed by Martinius Stenshorne, Leonardo Fornaroli, Oliver Goethe, Luke Browning, and Nikola Tsolov rounding out the top ten on the grid.

Championship leader Gabriele Minì started from 15th, with his PREMA Racing teammate Dino Beganovic just ahead in 14th, both having ground to make up.

Sebastian Montoya, who had initially qualified in P10, had his lap time deleted after a post-session investigation, relegating him to 27th in the Campos.

As the lights went green, Ramos covered off Meguetounif with a good launch, retaining the lead into Turn 1. Browning and Minì went four-wide down the main straight, miraculously making it through, with Minì advancing to P14.

Ramos was the first to set the fastest lap of 1:32.697 on lap 2.

On Lap 3, the Trident teammates made contact! Meguetounif, trying to avoid Ramos, took to the grass at Turn 1 but ended up causing a puncture for the Mexican driver.

The safety car was deployed as a result.

In a separate incident, Callum Voisin and Nikita Bedrin also stopped at Turn 1.

Home hero Mari Boya now led the race, followed by Dunne, Goethe, Van Hoepen, and Stenshorne in the top five.

The biggest mover so far was Montoya, who climbed 12 places to 15th after starting from 27th on the grid.

Lindblad was sixth for PREMA, with Leon, Fornaroli, Beganovic, and Tramnitz rounding out the top ten as the Safety Car remained on track.

The announcement came: SAFETY CAR IN THIS LAP.

On Lap 8, Boya executed a great restart to retain the lead. Noel Leon then took sixth place from Lindblad with an impressive move around the outside at Turn 5. Further back, Montoya continued his charge, overtaking Tsolov for 14th place into Turn 10.

Fornaroli set the new fastest lap with a 1:32.402s.

Stenshorne fought his way past Van Hoepen for fourth position between Turns 1 and 3. Leon went wheel to wheel with the Dutchman all the way to Turn 7 but couldn’t follow Stenshorne through.

Dunne had DRS on leader Boya, with Goethe close behind them in third. Montoya continued his impressive climb, taking 13th place from Browning.

Browning passed Mansell into Turn 10 for 13th, keeping title rival Minì in his sights, with the PREMA running in P11. However, Mansell regained the position into Turn 1 using DRS.

By Lap 15, everyone except leader Boya had DRS on the car ahead, down to Montoya in 12th place. Dunne attempted an inside dive on Boya at Turn 1, but the Campos driver anticipated the move and defended the lead.

On Lap 18, Montoya’s charge ended abruptly after contact with Minì.

The incident prompted the deployment of the safety car. Both cars ended up in the gravel at Turn 5 after the slightest of touches resulted in Minì getting a puncture, sending him straight into the Campos driver.

The race concluded under the Safety Car here in Barcelona, with Mari Boya and Campos Racing clinching victory on home soil in the Sprint Race!

Alex Dunne secured second place, ensuring it was a strong showing for Campos Racing, with two cars on the podium. Oliver Goethe finished third.

Stenshorne crossed the line in fourth, followed by Van Hoepen, Leon, and Fornaroli, who also earned the fastest lap point in seventh. Dino Beganovic staged a recovery to eighth, ahead of his PREMA Racing teammate Lindblad in ninth, with Tim Tramnitz rounding out the points in tenth.